Blog Post: Nicola Roberts Interview, May 2008

View original post here

EXCLUSIVE – We Talk Beauty With Girls Alouds’ Nicola

With Nicola Roberts’ Dainty Doll make-up range – developed especially for pale-skinned girls in conjunction with Jelly Pong Pong and for the TV show The Passions of Girls Aloud – proving so popular with you ladies, we figured it was high time we spoke to the Girls Aloud beauty about it. Here’s what she had to say when we chatted earlier today…

First of all, congratulations on the Dainty Doll range. It was obviously a very personal project for you – what was your motivation behind it?

I’ve always had a problem finding make-up products for pale skin – there are products for light and fair skin, but nothing for really pale – so I understood the issue girls were facing. I spent a good few years hiding behind fake tan, but it didn’t make me happy. But when I stopped using it, I found there was absolutely nothing make-up wise for me – everything was always 3-4 shades too dark. It was an absolute nightmare and I just felt it wasn’t fair – every woman’s entitled to feel beautiful, but I didn’t have the tools I needed. So I decided to do something about it.

And so you teamed up with Jelly Pong Pong…

Yes, when Jelly Pong Pong came along I was just really excited to be given the chance to do something so personal yet so unbelievably challenging. It was a whole new ball game for me, having joined the band when I was 16. It was nice to be able to take something on that I was in control of and that it was all my fault, theoretically, if it all went wrong.

How difficult did you find it to ditch the fake tan and embrace your natural skin tone?

I first started wearing fake tan when I got into the band, because being pale was something I couldn’t deal with – I absolutely hated it. In my mind, pale wasn’t pretty; everyone who people thought were gorgeous or pretty were always tanned and golden. I thought I was ugly. It wasn’t until I got a little older and I started to look at people like Lily Cole that I saw how unique they looked, and I thought “my skin is the same colour as that”.

So it was quite a brave move to embrace your individuality. How supportive have the other girls and your fans been?

When I was wearing fake tan, all the other girls would say “Nicola, your skin colour is beautiful” but I was just not having any of it. I would never get changed in front of the girls; I was too embarrassed. So the girls have been very supportive of the move, and the fans have been just as brilliant.

Here at Asos.com we’re very excited to be the exclusive stockists of Dainty Doll – what were your thoughts when you found out we’d be selling it?

I thought it was brilliant! I’m always on the site, I love it. My sister is addicted too – I’m always asking where her shoes or tops are from and she’ll say “asos”. So when Hilary, our manager, told me you’d be selling it I was made up.

Since it launched a couple of weeks ago it’s been incredibly popular – how does it feel to know it’s been a success?

I was so surprised. I was nervous to begin with because I knew how long it had taken me to be comfortable in my skin, so I worried that everyone might still want to do the fake tan thing. It’s brilliant.

Well, there are obviously a lot of pale-skinned girls out there who you’ve made very happy! Finally, what words of advice would you give to porcelain girls out there still wearing fake tan and bronzer?

Stop hiding. Enjoy being pale, enjoy all the beautiful colours you can wear, and be proud of yourself!

 

